Mold Maintenance & Repair

OCT 2016

Mold Maintenance & Repair

Issue link: https://mmr.epubxp.com/i/732846

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 27

October 2016 1 2 From the Editors A Better Way FEATURES 4 Do Scheduled PMs Really Work? True preventive maintenance lies in accurately monitoring and counting issues and corrective actions over time. 8 Tool Maintenance: A Molder's Must Have Equipping a toolroom for proper mold maintenance and repair takes more than just the right technology. 14 Building Your Welding Arsenal A combination of micro-TIG and laser welding technology should cover all your bases in mold repair. 18 Case Study: Quickly Getting to the Root of the Problem Diagnostic device helps molders simply check hot runner cables to ensure connectivity. 20 Products 24 Tip: Best Practices in Mold Maintenance and Repair Words to live by when it comes to upping your maintenance and repair game. PUBLISHERS Richard G. Kline, Jr. rkline2@gardnerweb.com Ryan Delahanty rdelahanty@gardnerweb.com EDITORS Christina Fuges cfuges@gardnerweb.com Jim Callari jcallari@ptonline.com Cyndi Kustush ckustush@gardnerweb.com El McKenzie emckenzie@gardnerweb.com Tony Deligio tdeligio@ptonline.com Matthew H. Naitove mnaitove@ptonline.com ADVERTISING MANAGER Becky Helton bhelton@gardnerweb.com ART DIRECTOR Carla Turner cturner@gardnerweb.com About the cover: Image courtesy of MoldTrax LLC. Achieving a higher level of maintenance and repair means improving one's data collection practices by moving away from traditional workorder "maintenance stories" that provide little value. Attendees at the MoldTrax Maintenance Center learn how to create and use standardized terminology along with visual aids such as drawings, images and videos to be quickly familiarized with mold history and proven bench methods. This empowers all technicians to make better decisions based on accurate mold knowledge bases that also serves as a solid training platform for new employees. See related story on page 14. C O N T E N T S O C T O B E R 2 0 1 6 8 14 Images above courtesy of (left to right) Henkel and Toolweld.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Mold Maintenance & Repair - OCT 2016